FHLB Dallas sets Oct. 30 deadline for SHARE 2026 affordable housing advances

Member institutions must apply by 5 p.m. CT for advances priced 100 to 200 basis points below posted rates. SHARE is not a consumer loan, and remaining capacity is not stated.

By Joseph Salem · 3 min read

Original mortgage.news text graphic reading SHARE 2026 deadline, Oct. 30, 5:00 p.m. CT; not an FHLB Dallas document.

Member institutions of the Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas have until 5 p.m. Central time (6 p.m. Eastern) on Friday, Oct. 30, to apply for the bank's SHARE 2026 discounted advance program. FHLB Dallas set the deadline in Bulletin 2026-22 on Oct. 16 and said applications received after that time will not be accepted. FHLB Dallas bulletin.

What SHARE is, and is not

SHARE, short for Support for Housing Affordability Resource Enhancement, offers advances, which are loans from FHLB Dallas to its member banks, credit unions and insurers. It is not a consumer mortgage product or a grant, and homebuyers cannot apply for it directly.

According to the program page, the advances are priced 200 basis points below the bank's posted rates for six- to 12-month terms and 100 basis points below for terms over 12 and up to 24 months. Members can use the money for new construction, renovation or financing of single-family or multifamily housing for households earning 80% or less of area median income, or to buy Low-Income Housing Tax Credits. SHARE program page.

SHARE 2026 advance terms

Eligible housing serves households at or below 80% of area median income, or LIHTC purchases. Applications due 5 p.m. CT, Oct. 30, 2026.
TermDiscount from posted rateNotes
6 to 12 months200 basis pointsFixed or SOFR-indexed
Over 12, up to 24 months100 basis pointsSOFR advances cannot go below zero
Program capacity$250 million totalCurrent remaining amount not in the Oct. 16 bulletin
Source: FHLB Dallas SHARE program page. Native table by mortgage.news.

How much is left is not stated

The program has $250 million in total capacity. An Aug. 17 bulletin said $172,085,133 remained as of that date and announced that the $40 million per-member cap would be removed on Sept. 15, after which remaining capacity would be available first come, first served. Aug. 17 bulletin. The Oct. 16 bulletin does not give a current remaining amount, so members should not assume the August figure still applies.

Advances also remain subject to the bank's normal credit, collateral and capital requirements. An application is not a guarantee of funding.

What lenders should do now

Community lenders with eligible 2026 affordable housing loans or tax credit investments have about two weeks. The application walkthrough requires a property information spreadsheet, says origination dates must fall in 2026 and requires a representative with advances authority to sign. Application walkthrough.

Cover: original mortgage.news graphic using facts from Bulletin 2026-22; not an FHLB Dallas document.

Watch: the verified facts in 15 seconds

Original mortgage.news motion graphics and original instrumental music. Source: FHLB Dallas Bulletin 2026-22, Oct. 16, 2026, and SHARE program page. Member-institution advances, not consumer loans. Open the original MP4 film · Download static MP4 copy

Transcript (on-screen text; original instrumental music, no narration): FHLB DALLAS | BULLETIN 2026-22; SHARE 2026 DEADLINE; Oct. 30; 5:00 p.m. CT (6:00 p.m. ET); Late applications will not be accepted. WHAT IT IS; DISCOUNTED ADVANCES; 200 | 100 bp; Below posted rates, by term; 6 to 12 months | over 12 up to 24 months. ELIGIBLE USES; AFFORDABLE HOUSING; 80% AMI; Households at or below area median income; Or purchases of Low-Income Housing Tax Credits. WHO CAN APPLY; MEMBER INSTITUTIONS; $250M; Total program capacity; Not a consumer loan; current remaining amount not stated.

Related coverage

Explore more coverage

Browse the full mortgage.news archive